THE QUARANTINE LAW ACT (CHAPTER 260)

Decree issued in accordance with section 6(a), (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f)

The Minister of Health, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 6(a), (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f) of the Quarantine Law, Chapter 260, by the decision of the Council of Ministers dated March 10, 2020, hereby issues the following Decree:

- 1. This Decree shall be referred to as the Quarantine (Determination of Measures to Prevent Spread of the COVID-19 Coronavirus) Decree (No. 18) of 2020.
- 2. Because the protection of public health and the health care system are the responsibility of the Republic and with the aim of limiting the spread of COVID-19 Coronavirus disease, protecting public health and preventing any possible collapse of the health system by the spread of the virus, taking into consideration the human resources and logistical infrastructure necessary to cope with the rapid spread of the virus and because, it is imperative to obtain additional necessary measures in addition to the Regulations issued by the Quarantine (Determination of Measures to Prevent the Spread of COVID- 19 Coronavirus) Decrees (No. 1 to No. 17) of 2020, without affecting those Regulations that continue to be in effect, and

Because, by a Notice published in the Official Gazette of the Republic following the authorization of the Council of Ministers, the Minister of Health declared as infected Local Areas with the COVID-19 Coronavirus under Article 4 of the Quarantine Law, Chapter 260, the districts of Lefkosia, Lemesos, Larnaka, Ammochostos and Pafos, the following Regulations are issued:

- a) Regulation 2(d) of the Quarantine (Determination of Measures to Prevent the Spread of COVID- 19 Coronavirus) Decree (No. 15) of 2020 is amended and replaced by the following new Regulation:
- "d) Scheduled surgeries are postponed in all public and private hospitals, as well as admissions of patients whose health condition allows it, posing no danger or threat to human life."
- b) Further to the services that have been designated as essential services, in accordance to the Agreement for the Labour Dispute Resolution Process of 16 March 2004 and the Agreement for the Labour Dispute in the Public Service Resolution Process of 12 December 2005, as well as those defined by the Regulation 2(a) of the Quarantine (Determination of Measures to Prevent Spread of the COVID-19 Coronavirus) Decree (No. 15) of 2020, and Regulation 2(I) of the Quarantine (Determination of Measures to Prevent Spread of the COVID-19 Coronavirus) Decree

(No. 16) of 2020, the Veterinary Services of the Ministry of Agriculture, Rural Development and Environment are also designated as essential services.

3. Regulation 2(a) enters into force on 27 April 2020 at 6:00a.m. and Regulation 2(b) enters into force immediately after its publication in the Official Gazette of the Republic.