

Search on government.se

Press release from Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Ministry for Foreign Affairs lifts advice against travel to the United Kingdom

Published 14 September 2020

The Ministry for Foreign Affairs decided today to lift the advice against non-essential travel to the United Kingdom. The decision comes into force with immediate effect.

The easing of restrictions that have applied to Swedish travellers has been taken into account in the assessment leading to the decision. Sweden is now part of a group of countries that the UK deems to have a reduced COVID-19 risk. This means that Sweden is no longer included in the UK's quarantine requirements.

In recent weeks, the Ministry for Foreign Affairs has lifted the advice against non-essential travel to the majority of countries in Europe. This does not mean that the situation is back to normal. Local rules, restrictions and quarantine requirements affecting Swedish travellers can be re-introduced at short notice if the situation changes.

A high degree of personal responsibility must be taken by travellers regardless of where they travel. Before travelling, every traveller should prepare thoroughly, keep well informed about the entry rules that apply and follow the advice and instructions of local authorities when abroad.

Today's decision

- 1. The advice against non-essential travel to the United Kingdom is lifted as of 14 September 2020. (In previous decisions, the Ministry for Foreign Affairs lifted the advice against non-essential travel to: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Spain, Switzerland and the Vatican City.)
- 2. For other countries in the EU, the EEA (European Economic Area) and the Schengen area[1], the Ministry for Foreign Affairs previously issued advice against non-essential travel up to and including 23 September 2020. This decision still applies.
- 3. The Ministry for Foreign Affairs previously issued advice against non-essential travel to countries outside the EU/the EEA/the Schengen area up to and including 15 November 2020. This decision still applies.

[1] Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Slovakia and Slovenia.



The page is marked with the following categories

COVID-19 EU International Ministry for Foreign Affairs **Press release**

Related

- > Advice against travel to Estonia, Ireland, Latvia and Lithuania extended 22 October 2020 · Press release from Ministry for Foreign Affairs
- > Ministry for Foreign Affairs lifts advice against travel to Finland and Slovakia 21 September 2020 · Press release from Ministry for Foreign Affairs
- > Ministry for Foreign Affairs lifts its advice against travel to Cyprus 09 September 2020 · <u>Press release</u> from <u>Ministry for Foreign Affairs</u>
- > Changes to the Ministry for Foreign Affairs' advice against travel 26 August 2020 · Press release from Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Contents on government.se > The Government of Sweden > Government policy > How Sweden is governed > Sweden in the EU Press room Subscribe via email > Legal documents > The Government Offices Other languages > About the website > Contact Information

> Prime Minister's Office > Ministry of Culture > Ministry of Defence > Ministry of Education and Research

- > Ministry of Employment > Ministry of Enterprise and
- Innovation

Ministry

- > Ministry of the Environment
- > Ministry of Finance
- > Ministry for Foreign Affairs > Ministry of Health and Social Affairs
- > Ministry of Infrastructure
- > Ministry of Justice

Contact

Sweden Switchboard: +46 8 405 10 00 > General contact form

The Government Offices

SE-103 33 Stockholm

